New Bike

I have the bug. The triathlon bug.

With little no time for training lately, all I can think about is registering for another triathlon. I have been putting in 13 hour days at work and dealing with stressful client situations. Throw in a virus and a sick dog and voila!

Triathlon bug.

But this time I won’t be entering the fat tire division.

I have been bike shopping and because I am a noob, I was trying to keep costs down. Well, for those of you who are bike connoisseurs, you know how expensive a new bike can be. I was in sticker shock at first, but finally resigned myself to just put up and shut up.

The family can live on ramen noodles for the next month, right?

Then, I found Penelope.

20120424-203434.jpg

The above picture is the after shot. I did not take a before shot because she was in very bad shape. A local recycled bicycle shop had just got her in and she had been sitting up for a long time. After working their magic on her, she is good as new!

I can’t wait to have the time to hit the roads and give her a good breaking in!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Bike

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Do you want the good news or the bad?
    The good news is that you’ve got a pretty bike there that will suit you well. Actually, I decided against sharing the bad news with you… It’s all good. If you experience any odd pains, talk to a pro at a local shop – do not get the idea that sore spots are normal, they aren’t…

    A bit of advice though… Trade up for a better, stiffer saddle as soon as you get used to riding a lot – that thing will hurt like crazy after 10 or 15 miles. I’ve got one just like it on my old bike and it’s long gone.

    • abrining says:

      Please give me the bad news. I can take it. Any and all advice is appreciated since I am so new to this. I have already considered a new seat and will probably be buying one sooner than later.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Great start with the saddle. The bad news is a few things – the pedals should go- the pedals with the clips make pedaling a chore, though you could learn to live with them. I’d go for either road bike or mountain bike shoes and pedals (I have mountain bike pedals for both my road and mountain bike because I can’t afford two pairs of biking shoes). The down tube shifters are horrible, but you should be able to get used to them as well – be careful. If you choose to upgrade the shifters to STI shifters it’s expensive (the shifters/brake handles), you’d be better off buying a new bike.

        I went the same route and my old bike is sitting in my warehouse collecting dust… I thought it would be “good enough” but it wasn’t, so in the end I blew another $400 that I probably didn’t have to.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    By the way, congratulations on catching the bug – that is most decidedly awesome!

Leave a Reply

